Our site uses cookies to give you the best experience. Manage your cookies here or continue shopping if you're happy.

Accept & close

    What are PEGI age ratings?

    Take a closer look at the way PEGI rates video games.

    Just like films, games are given an age rating by an organisation called PEGI (Pan European Game Information). In this guide, we'll give you a little overview of each rating and what ages these ratings are suitable for.

    What are PEGI age ratings?

    The people at PEGI play through every game (sounds like a dream job!) and give them an age rating, so you know who that game is appropriate for. They review games based on their violence, language, fear factor and more. The age rating is easy to find, just look at the bottom left on the front of the box.

    What do PEGI 3 and PEGI 7 mean?

    • PEGI 3 – suitable for gamers of all ages, games with this rating have little violence, bad language or anything that would frighten players. Popular games with this rating include FIFA and Mario Kart.
    • PEGI 7 – games like Splatoon and the Lego series are suitable for gamers aged seven and above. They may have scenes that could frighten younger children and some non-realistic violence.

    What do PEGI 12, PEGI 16 and PEGI 18 mean?

    • PEGI 12 – games with this rating, like Overwatch and Street Fighter, start to show more realistic violence in a fantasy setting and strong language can pop up now and again too.
    • PEGI 16 – suitable for sixteen-year-olds and over, the action in these games looks more realistic and strong language can be a lot more common. Games like Destiny and Marvel’s Spider-Man will have this rating.
    • PEG 18 – only suitable for adults, these games are incredibly realistic and can contain cases of extreme violence, language and drug use.